Since 1964, the Humane Society of Sheboygan County has been dedicated to its mission: prevent cruelty to animals, relieve suffering among animals, and extend humane education. We are Sheboygan County’s only open admissions shelter. We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and shelter 2,500+ homeless animals every year.

The Humane Society of Sheboygan County focuses on accessible spay and neuter programs in an effort to beat animal population at its core. Creative adoption efforts and dozens of programs provide support for overlooked animals and work to place homeless animals into loving families.

“This is your shelter, built by this community – a place to find happiness for animals and families alike.”


In the early 1960’s, after learning that the City of Sheboygan euthanized unwanted animals with carbon monoxide poisoning, a group of dedicated volunteers lead by Carol Knier, Ann Fredricks, and Sophie Gunther started the Sheboygan County Humane Society.

By 1964 a physical shelter became a reality with extensive fundraising efforts. This first/current shelter was run completely by volunteer efforts working 365 days per year on three shifts per day.

The present shelter looks very much as it did in the early 70’s, but now struggles with overcrowding resulting from increased cases of neglect, abuse, and an influx of unwanted and abandoned animals. On September 15, 2018 the organization was rebranded to the Humane Society of Sheboygan County in association with kicking off their new Capital Campaign to fund a new, 16,000 square-foot facility next to the current shelter.


Our staff and board of directors set everything into motion at the Humane Society of Sheboygan County. We are proud of our amazing and dedicated team members.

Andrew VigliettiExecutive Director
Carissa Barnes, Marketing & Outreach Manager
Lisa MarekOperations Manager
Ashley JacksonVolunteer Coordinator
Susan Throndsen, Bookkeeper
Dr. Sue DeFilippiVeterinary Director
Jill Foshee, Vet Tech.
Natasha Martinez, Shelter Supervisor
Jesy Olson, Shelter Supervisor
Jose Araujo, Maintenance
Rachael Erickson, Animal Caregiver
Stephanie Fulton, Animal Caregiver
Ashley Hall, Animal Caregiver
Brian Hameister, Animal Caregiver
Crystal Jones, Animal Caregiver
Emily Landwehr, Animal Caregiver
Carolyn Pack, Animal Caregiver
Brooke Schnoor, Animal Caregiver
Storm Lee, Animal Caregiver

Steven Schmitt, President
Tricia Reiss, Vice President
Adam Cain, Treasurer
Laura Lingl, Secretary
Michael Beeck
Lisa Dross
Michelle Gentine
Shawn Jackson
Olivier Bauer
Diane Ebenreiter
Lindsay Harrison-Eirich
Ann Marie Jacobson
Charles Mais
Jacqueline McKelvey
Pam Langan
Kathy Anderson, Emeritus Position
Pam Markelz, Emeritus Position
Dr. Stephanie Greetan, Advisor